Few travellers on the slow Lisbon-Cascais trains that stop at Cruz Quebrada, are aware that the long wall covered in graffity conceals a plot of land with an historic link with the past.
Terra da Ponte, as it was known, embraced a number of plots of arable land bordered by the Estrada Real and the Rio Jamor. Over the years numerous transactions were recorded, the last in 1930 when the property was purchased by Fábrica de Fermentos Holandeses, whose faxctory stands as monument to the lisbon Cricket Club where between 1899 and 1921 British sportsmen indulged in a variety of social and sporting activities, such as cricket, tennis and football, to name a few; for those with less violent tastes there was a small bullring on the grounds.
Read the full article here
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER